Rhetorical Analysis (Part 2)

The text that I am analyzing today is from a site called Live Strong, and the article is called, “Why Is Organic Food Bad” by Michelle Powell-Smith (has been writing professionally for over a decade and has a masters degree in art history from the University of Missouri-Columbia (LiveStrong)). The writer definitely seems interested in writing about this topic, ranging from the tone of the paper to just the overall information she conducted. This topic contradicts my overall main topic, which is, are organic foods healthier than non-organic foods? I really enjoyed reading this article and I thought it was very interesting and gives us another opinion about my topic.

While reading this text I really thought Smith was trying to prove a point, which I thought motivated her to write. By that I mean, everyone thinks that organic foods are healthier but do not know information on why that may not be the case. She gives information saying why organic foods may be bad, which should give readers another point of view on the topic. Once people hear the word organic they automatically think, “Organic is healthier, everyone should eat organic produce,” or something in that area. So, I really thought her motive trying to tell readers that organic produce is bad was very interesting, especially since many people think that organic is always better.

Like I mentioned a lot in the previous paragraph, the author was trying to prove a point that organic foods are bad. The author does a good job on backing up her claims with factual evidence. The main claim is that organic food is bad. A big point she mentions is the cost or organic food. She states, “Cost is one of the biggest disadvantages or organic foods. Organic farming is more time and labor intensive, and the organic certification process can be costly and difficult”. Which I thought was interesting because before I did not know that organic food cost more than non-organic foods but when the author mentions that, it makes me think. One claim that really stood out to me is when she talked about productivity. She mentions, “Organic farming allows for less productivity per acre of land farmed than conventional industrial farming methods. The increased popularity or organic foods may lead to more large organic farms, with a higher use of fossil fuels and other resources”. This stood out to me because as a buyer sometimes you want the best productivity; you want to pay for quality of the foods you are eating.

The author’s audience seems to revolve around teens/adults. The author made the article easy to read by listing out the points, and not making everything confusing. I thought that was very helpful because as a reader I want to find the points right away, and the author made that possible. Her tone of writing was very organized and easy to understand. I really enjoyed reading this authors work, and hope to read more about what she has to say in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

