What’s buzzing?

I do not know about you but I hear a lot of stories about weird phenomenons that happen throughout the year. Despite it being the latest buzz or just an occurrence, they will always catch my attention. Even something small like a waterfall at a National Park. While searching around through the Internet I found an interesting article, which at first glance caught my attention and made me want to read more about it. In the article, ‘Firefall’ mesmerizing at Yosemite National Park in California by Amanda Jackson (an Associate Producer at CNN who writes about trending topic on Social media), discusses about a waterfall in Horsetail Fall in Yosemite National Park that looks like lava falling down a cliff. Ranger Ashley Mayer states that, “It’s the way the sun happens to hit that causes the waterfall to glow in such way” (Jackson). An occurrence like this that only happens for a few weeks once a year is definitely something to keep an eye on.

Although this type of information may not suit everybody, if you are someone who travels or is a photographer, this can be a perfect opportunity to see something beautiful. Jackson states, “In late February, you’ll often see rows of photographers of all levels there catching the last rays of light in the evening” (CNN). So, if you are a photographer you better be ready for some company because you will not be alone taking pictures of this rare sighting. Jackson also talks about that in the Yosemite Park Website they “suggest that the most frequent shot view is at the El Captain picnic area of the park, in central California” (CNN). One of the photographers Sangeeta Dey said, “When the fall started glowing, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing, for 10 minutes, all of us sat there mesmerized by this spectacle” (Jackson).

I know for a fact that I will not be one to see this spectacular view in person but if I had the chance I definitely would head out to Yosemite National Park as soon as possible. I know not everybody is a photographer, and takes photographs as a living. As I mentioned earlier if you are someone that likes to go on spectacular adventures and loves to travel, this would be the perfect opportunity. But if you plan on seeing this phenomenon, you better pack up your bags and get on the road because the month is almost over and this view will disappear fast. In my opinion life is too short to not see something this beautiful once a year. I know everybody is going to say that “we have next year”, but how about if the ‘Firefall’ somehow does not show up next year, then what? I may indicate that some people may not have the funds to see this but when the opportunity presents itself, it is definitely a bucket list type of activity! Now if you have the time and funds to check this experience out, then I totally suggest that you do!

Leave a Reply

